Carol Rumens

Carol Rumens is an English poet who is the author of fourteen collections of poems as well as works of fiction and drama. She has also completed translations. Rumens received the Cholmondeley Award and the Prudence Farmer Prize and delivered lectures at the Newcastle University Lecture Series. 

Carpet-weavers, Morocco

by Carol Rumens

‘Carpet-weavers, Morocco’ is a challenging poem which explores issues such as child labour as well as examining the myriad origins of beauty.

The poem showcases Rumens' well known curiosity as she draws inspiration from different places and cultures throughout her work.

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry, straight to your inbox

Start Your Perfect Poetry Journey

The Best-Kept Secrets of Poetry

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry ever straight to your inbox