George Eliot

George Eliot was the pen name of Mary Ann Evans. She was an English novelist and translator who is considered one of the Victorian era leaders. Throughout her life, she wrote seven novels, including Middlemarch, Daniel Deronda, and The Mill and the Floss. Her books are well-regarded for realism and insight. Read more of George Eliot’s Biography.

Count that Day Lost

by George Eliot

‘Count That Day Lost’ by George Eliot describes what one must do to count their days well spent with goodness and kindness.

I Am Lonely

by George Eliot

‘I Am Lonely’ by George Eliot tells of a speaker’s dismay over the departure of a beloved younger sister that has left her “lame” and “lonely.”

The Choir Invisible

by George Eliot

‘The Choir Invisible’ by George Eliot describes the hopes a speaker has for the afterlife and the impact her memory might have on those still living. 

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry, straight to your inbox

Start Your Perfect Poetry Journey

The Best-Kept Secrets of Poetry

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry ever straight to your inbox