Lady Mary Wroth Poems

Lady Mary Wroth was a Renaissance poet and the first English female writer to maintain a reputation after her death. Her works include The Countess of Montgomery’s Urania and Pamphilia to Amphilanthus. The latter is the second-known sonnet sequence by an English woman.

Sonnet 11

by Lady Mary Wroth

‘Sonnet 11’ is part of Pamphilia to Amphilanthus, a sonnet sequence in Countess of Montgomery’s Urania. It describes the feelings and expressions of a girl after her love has been unfaithful to her.

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry, straight to your inbox

Start Your Perfect Poetry Journey

The Best-Kept Secrets of Poetry

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry ever straight to your inbox