Louise Glück

Louise Glück (pronounced as “Glick”), Nobel Prize Winner for Literature, 2020, is an acclaimed contemporary American Poet and essayist. She has not only received many notable awards but also was appointed as the Poet Laureate of the United States from 2003 to 2004. She has written twelve poetry books. These include Faithful and Virtuous Night which won the National Book Award in 2014. Another, Poems 1962-2012 won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her poetry often deals with themes of relationships despair, and family matters.

Read more about Louise Glück.

Gretel in Darkness

‘Gretel in Darkness’ by Louise Glück is an incredibly creative poem. Through the perspective of Gretel, the poet explores what it’s like to be ignored and controlled by men. 

Gretel in Darkness

The Wild Iris

‘The Wild Iris’ by Louise Glück is told from the perspective of a flower. It comprehends death differently than humanity does and shares its understanding.


Discover and learn about the greatest poetry, straight to your inbox

Start Your Perfect Poetry Journey

Ad blocker detected

To create the home of poetry, we fund this through advertising

Please help us help you by disabling your ad blocker


We appreciate your support

The Best-Kept Secrets of Poetry

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry ever straight to your inbox

Share via