Louise Glück

Louise Glück Poems

Louise Glück (pronounced as “Glick”), Nobel Prize Winner for Literature, 2020, is an acclaimed contemporary American Poet and essayist. She has not only received many notable awards but also was appointed as the Poet Laureate of the United States from 2003 to 2004. She has written twelve poetry books. These include Faithful and Virtuous Night which won the National Book Award in 2014. Another, Poems 1962-2012 won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her poetry often deals with themes of relationships despair, and family matters.

Read more about Louise Glück.

The Triumph of Achilles

by Louise Glück

‘The Triumph of Achilles’ depicts the titular hero as he mourns the loss of his beloved companion Patroclus.

The title poem from her celebrated 1985 collection, 'The Triumph of Achilles,' is one of the poet's finest works and undoubtedly contributed to her 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature. It demonstrates her typical interest in Greek mythology as well as her sensitivity to states of extreme emotional turmoil.

In the story of Patroclus

no one survives, not even Achilles

who was nearly a god.

Gretel in Darkness

by Louise Glück

‘Gretel in Darkness’ by Louise Glück is an incredibly creative poem. Through the perspective of Gretel, the poet explores what it’s like to be ignored and controlled by men. 

The Wild Iris

by Louise Glück

‘The Wild Iris’ by Louise Glück is told from the perspective of a flower. It comprehends death differently than humanity does and shares its understanding.

We're glad you like visiting Poem Analysis...

We've got everything you need to master poetry

But, are you ready to take your learning

to the next level?