Biography of Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood was born in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada in November of 1939. She was one of three children born to father, Carl Edmund Atwood, who worked as an entomologist, and mother Margaret Dorothy who was a nutritionist. Atwood spent a lot of time with her father in the wooded areas of northern Quebec during her childhood. She also spent much of her youth traveling between Ottawa, Sault Ste. Marie and Toronto. Atwood’s first plays and poems were written when she was around six years old. 


Early Life and Education

Atwood only began to attend school regularly when she was twelve years old. During this time period she read a great deal. She would go on to attend Leaside High School in Toronto. At the age of sixteen she knew that she wanted to become a writer and when she began attending Victoria College in the University of Toronto she began publishing. Her work would appear in the college literary journal, Acta Victoriana. Atwood also participated in a sophomore performance of The Bob Comedy Revue. She graduated from the university with a Bachelor of Arts in English and minors in philosophy and French. 

In the early 60s Atwood began her graduate work at Radcliffe College, Harvard University. She also started a doctoral degree but did not finish her dissertation. It was also during this time period that Atwood published her first book of poetry, Double Persephone. It was published in 1961. This work won the E.J. Pratt Medal. She would continue her career lecturing English at the University of British Columbia, Sir George Williams University and The University of Alberta. She followed her first collection with The Circle Game and The Animals in That Country. 


Literary Career

 In 1968, Atwood married Jim Polk, who was also a writer. It was a year later that her first novel, The Edible Woman, was published. It is considered to be a great example of the feminist views which would become prevalent within her later work. Atwood and her husband did not remain together for long, divorcing in 1973. 

She would continue to teach throughout the early 1970s. These years were extremely prolific for the writer. She produced six collections over the decade as well as the novels, Surfacing, Lady Oracle, and Life Before Man. This last novel was a finalist for the Governor General’s Award. 

In the mid-late 70s Atwood began a relationship with another novelist, Graeme Gibson. The two moved to Alliston, Ontario. It was here that their daughter, Eleanor, was born. The next novels that Atwood published solidified her career. The first was Bodily Harm, published in 1981 and The Handmaid’s Tale in 1985. This novel won the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the Governor General’s Award. It was also a finalist for the 1986 Booker Prize. This was followed by Cat’s Eye which was also a finalist for the Booker Prize. 

In the 1980s Atwood was the MFA Honorary Chair at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa. She was also the Berg Professor of English at New York University and the Writer-In-Residence at Trinity University, San Antonio in 1989. 

The 1990s saw Atwood continue to expand her collection of novels. She published The Robber Bride in 1993 and Alias Grace in 1996. Alias Grace was a finalist for the Booker Prize and the Governor General’s Award. Atwood’s tenth novel, The Blind Assassin, won the Booker Prize, the monetary award from which she donated to environmental and literary causes. The Blind Assassin also won the Hammett Prize in 2000. It was received a great deal of praise from critics. A year later she was introduced into Canada’s Walk of Fame.


Recent Works 

Her next work was Oryx and Crake, the first in an apocalyptic science fiction trilogy which included The Year of the Flood and MaddAddam. Atwood was a participant in the Canongate Myth Series in which short novels were written as retelling and expansions of ancient myths. Her contribution was titled, The Penelopiad, and concerned Odysseus’s wife, Penelope, and the struggles she went through in his absence. More recently, Atwood published Hag-Seed which was a retelling of The Tempest, a play by William Shakespeare. It was part of another series developed by Penguin Random House. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

What's your thoughts? Join the conversation by commenting
We make sure to reply to every comment submitted, so feel free to join the community and let us know by commenting below.

Get more Poetry Analysis like this in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get new poetry analysis updates straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Scroll Up