Mary Elizabeth Coleridge

Mary Elizabeth Coleridge was a British novelist and poet born in 1907. She wrote poetry under the pen name Anodos. Throughout her life, she completed five novels. The first was published in 1893 and is titled The Seven Sleepers of Ephesus. 

The Witch

by Mary Elizabeth Coleridge

‘The Witch’ poem tells a short story about the life of the speaker, the witch, and the destruction she wrought on one someone who tried to help her.

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry, straight to your inbox

Start Your Perfect Poetry Journey

The Best-Kept Secrets of Poetry

Discover and learn about the greatest poetry ever straight to your inbox